New Single Vehicle Approval Rules now in force

Stina Eneman News

The Individual Vehicle Approval (IVA) scheme, replaces the old SVA (Single Vehicle Approval) and is a pre-registration inspection for vehicles that haven’t been type approved to British or European standards. The purpose of the scheme is to ensure that these vehicles are designed and constructed to suitable safety standards before they are used on public roads.

IVA ensures that vehicles constructed for non-European Economic Area markets comply with British law. Even vehicles outwardly similar to European-specification models, but intended for other markets, are often unsuitable for use in Britain without at least some modification. IVA also checks that the construction of amateur-built vehicles, rebuilt vehicles and vehicles using parts from a previously registered vehicle meet modern safety and environmental standards. It also provides an alternative to type approval for vehicles manufactured in very low volume; vehicles converted for the disabled prior to registration, as well as hearses and armoured vehicles for civilian use.

How can Be-Ge Jany Help?

Using our network of Approved Trained Jany Seat installers, we can supply Build Certificates to present to the VOSA inspection centres to demonstrate that your installation meets, 74/408 Strength of seats and their anchorages, ECE 76/115 (amendment 2005/41) EC Anchorages for motor vehicle safety belts, 78/932 Head restraint (whiplash). This document could also be useful to supply to Vehicle Insurance companies that the vehicle has been modified correctly.

Vehicles that need an IVA inspection

Your vehicle will be subject to the IVA scheme if it is less than 10 years old and requires first licensing and registration in the UK.

The scheme applies to:

  • Cars or light passenger vehicles with three wheels and not more than 8 seats in addition to the driver’s seat and a maximum gross weight of more than 1000kg; or
  • light goods vehicles with three or more wheels and a maximum gross weight of no more than 3500 kilograms* (includes tractor units of articulated vehicles and bi-purpose vehicles)
  • Vehicles classed as special purpose passenger vehicles are:
    • hearses
    • motor caravans (optional)
    • ambulances (optional)
    • armoured vehicles
    • wheelchair accessible vehicles

(A wheelchair accessible vehicle will be subject to an ESVA inspection)

Gary Shaw, Be-Ge Seating UK Ltd